Thursday . September 19 . 2019
Share |
Myanmar offers e-visas to 24 more nations
Sid Dhartha, Yangon, October 23, 2014

CITIZENS of 24 more countries are now eligible for Myanmar's recently implemented e-visa applications system, announced the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism last week. 


Since early October, the following coutries were allowed to use the e-visa system: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Venezuela, Panama, Mongolia, and Colombia.


“We believe that opening the e-visa service to these nationalities will attract a bigger number of arrivals to our country. We plan to add more countries in the near future,” a spokesperson from the Ministry of Population and Immigration told TTG Asia e-Daily.


Myanmar introduced its first-ever e-visa system on September 1 to boost the already rapid rate of growth in tourism.


Welcoming the move, Phyoe Wai Yar Zar, managing director of All Asia Exclusive Travel Yangon, said: “I believe this is a very positive step by the ministry since Eastern Europe is one of the potential markets for Myanmar and we can expect more arrivals from there as a result.


He added: “Sweden is a country Myanmar should think of targeting for high-end travel.”

Print Top Stories
Poor 1 2 3 4 5 Good
No comment for this article.
Email Address:
  Enter the code shown: